Scotland boss Steve Clarke admitted he thought John McGinn’s fantastic equaliser against Austria was offside.
The Aston Villa midfielder’s overhead kick with five minutes left earned a point for the Dark Blues in the opening game of World Cup qualifying Group F.
Hampden gaffer Clarke said: “John is quite happy with himself. It was good because obviously, having conceded a second goal, we could have let our heads drop. We didn’t.
“We got a free-kick, they cleared it well, Ryan Christie kept it alive and headed it into John. I’ve got to be honest, I thought he was offside. That was my first thought.
“But he came up with a great finish, an overhead kick and another international goal.”
— John McGinn (@jmcginn7) March 25, 2021
— Scotland National Team (@ScotlandNT) March 25, 2021
Scotland twice came from behind to earn a point against Austria.
Clarke felt they should have had a penalty with former Aberdeen midfielder Ryan Christie hauled to the ground by Stefan Ilsanker, but ref Carols del Cerro Grande was unmoved.
Clarke added: “I got into enough trouble when I was a club manager talking about referees so I’m just going to pass on that one.
“But, yes, I thought it was a penalty. I’ve got to be honest. My immediate reaction was a penalty and seeing it back on video it was a penalty. When you wrap both arms around a player in the box then it should be a penalty.
“He did disallow a goal for them which was a little bit soft, so we are not going to complain too much.”
Overall Clarke was satisfied with the result and said: “I’m pleased to get the point. I think when you go behind twice against a very good team that’s not a bad result.
“Yeah we would have liked to have started with three points but we got a point. And it might be a good point.”