News / Local In pictures: Castles of Donside by Scott Begbie 29/03/2017, 8:10 am Updated: 29/03/2017, 10:16 am Castle Forbes near Alford, was built in the early 19th century, in the Scottish baronial style. Send us a story Sign up to our Daily newsletter In this week’s Aberdonian we have taken a look back through our picture archive looking at historical images of the Castles of Donside. How many of these old castles which follow the course of the River Don have you visited? 1973: Kemnay House pictured in the 1970s – the ancestral home of the Burnett family. 1992: Members of the Fraser Dragoons fire a volley of shot at Castle Fraser during the Marymass Fair celebrations. 1930s: Castle Forbes near Alford, was built in the early 19th century, in the Scottish baronial style. 1987: Kildrummy Castle in Upper Donside makes a pleasant backdrop as a farmer goes about his business. 1965: Ruined Corse Castle near Lumphanan. Renovation plans drawn up in the 1980s came to nothing. 1989: Budding young artist Lorna Clark sketches flowers in Castle Fraser’s gardens. 1965: Ruined Balfluig Castle, which stands close to the village of Alford. 1982: Picturesque Tillycairn Castle was fully restored after many years of neglect. 1977: Corgarff Castle, standing by the Lecht road, was built in the mid-16th century. 1970: Monymusk House, on the banks of the Don has views out onto the iconic Bennachie. 1961: A view through the trees of Balbithan House, Kintore, which was built in 1679. 1965: The lichen and ivy-covered ruin of Tillycairn Castle as it looked in the 1960s. Tillycairn was built in 1548. 1964: A couple of visitors take stock – and possibly drawings – of ruined Towie Castle in the mid-1960s. 1972: Glenkindie House at Strathdon dates from the 16th century and has been described as “a snug chateau”. 1962: Pitfichie Castle was built shortly after 1560. Its first owners were the Urrie or Hurrie family. 1996: Glenbuchat Castle, located above the River Don near Kildrummy was built in the late 16th century.