Football legend Denis Law to be granted Freedom of Aberdeen

Denis Law,
Denis Law,

Aberdeen-born football legend Denis Law is to be granted the Freedom of Aberdeen.

Aberdeen City Council today said a motion requesting the freedom of the city for the former Manchester United star is expected to be agreed next week.

Councillors will vote to bestow the honour on the sportman on Wednesday next week.

The motion states: “That this Council confer the Freedom of the City upon Denis Law CBE in recognition of his outstanding career as a world renowned footballer, his dedication to charitable endeavour, and his commitment to community sport in Aberdeen.”

The motion has been signed by 29 members of the Council including the Lord Provost and the Leader of the Council.

The 77-year-old holds the record as Manchester United’s third highest goalscorer and whose career consistently broke transfer fee records.

Law’s career began in 1956 in the Second Division for Huddersfield Town. Just four years later he signed to play for Manchester City for a transfer fee of £55,000, setting a new British record.

Law spent one year at Manchester City before being bought by the Italian club Torino for £110,000, this time setting a record for a the highest transfer fee involving a British player.

When he later signed for Manchester United in 1962 the club paid £115,000, breaking transfer fee records for a third time.

In the 11 years that Denis Law played for Manchester United he scored 237 goals in 404 appearances, placing him third in the club’s history of top goalscorers, behind Bobby Charlton and Wayne Rooney.

Nicknamed ‘The King’ or ‘The Lawman’ by supporters and ‘Denis the Menace’ by the opposition, Law played for Scotland a total of 55 times and jointly holds the Scottish international record goal tally with Kenny Dalglish.

The Freedom of the City is the highest award the city council can bestow.  The most recent recipients were Scotland the What? (2008), The Highlanders, 4th Battalion the Royal Regiment of Scotland (2006), Professor John Mallard OBE (2004) and Sir Alex Ferguson CBE (1999).