Aberdeen Labour’s Jenny Laing named council leader, Barney Crockett Lord Provost

Former council leader Barney Crockett has been appointed Lord Provost of Aberdeen and Jenny Laing has been named Aberdeen’s Council leader.

Barney Crockett was voted in by 23 votes to 21 with one absentation.

Jenny Laing was voted in 23 votes to 19.

Conservative councillor Tom Mason has been named deputy Lord Provost by 22 votes to 19.


This paves the way for the Conservatives and Labour to form a coalition along with the independents.

Councillor Jennifer Stewart has also announced she will step away from the Liberal Democrat group.

Jennifer Stewart quits Lib Dems, result could mean Labour/Tory/Independent coalition in Aberdeen

Follow the latest news from today’s council meeting on Twitter, or by updating the Twitter Moment linked below.