Evening Express

MATCH REPORT: Aberdeen draw 1-1 with Burnley in Europa League qualifier first leg

Aberdeen winger Gary Mackay-Steven

A late sickener from Sam Vokes meant Aberdeen drew with Burnley in their Europa League second qualifying round first leg at Pittodrie.

The Red Army were in raptures on 18 minutes when Gary Mackay-Steven buried a penalty in the left bottom corner past Burnley sub keeper Anders Lindegaard.

German ref Daniel Siebert pointed to the spot after striker Sam Cosgrove went down after climbing up for a header with Clarets defender James Tarkowski.

The start to the game saw  Derek McInnes’ team allow Burnley to pass the ball ineffectually in their own half, while pressing ferociously when they crossed halfway.

Following a collision in the box, England keeper Nick Pope was forced off.

Before the break, McInnes’ tactics were paying off, with Graeme Shinnie, Dom Ball and Lewis Ferguson controlling the midfield.

After half-time, the Dons understandably retreated under increased Burnley pressure, but looked solid, moving from a back four to back five as the half wore on.

Joe Lewis made a wonderful double stop soon after the break. First he saved a header from point-blank range from Jack Cork, then he tipped an Aaron Lennon cross away from danger.

Aberdeen came close to extending their lead, with the best of a bunch of opportunities a Mackay-Steven header, which was tipped round the right post.

However, on 81 minutes they were caught napping, and Clarets sub Sam Vokes was allowed a couple of touches in the box before firing past Joe Lewis.

The late away goal conceded means Aberdeen head for the second leg at Turf Moor next Thursday with a more difficult task if they’re to reach a third qualifying round tie with Istanbul Basaksehir.

Review the minute by minute with the Evening Express sports team here:

Tonight’s teams:

Aberdeen: Joe Lewis, Shay Logan, Graeme Shinnie, Scott McKenna, Niall McGinn, Gary Mackay-Steven, Sam Cosgrove, Michael Devlin, Lewis Ferguson, Dominic Ball, Tommie Hoban.

Subs: Tomas Cerny, Chris Forrester, Stephen Gleeson, Scott Wright, Stevie May, Dean Campbell, Bruce Anderson.

Burnley: Nick Pope, Matthew Lowton, Jack Cork, James Tarkowski, Ben Mee, Johann Berg Gudmundsson, Chris Woodd, Jeff Hendricks, Ashley Westwood, Stephen Ward, Aaron Lennon.

Subs: Anders Lindegaard, Charlie Taylor, Sam Vokes, Jonathan Walters, Nahki Wells, Phil Bardsley, Kevin Long.