Evening Express

Cup final heartache for young Dons as Hibs win at Hampden

Aberdeen coach Paul Sheerin.

Aberdeen Under-20s were beaten 3-1 by Hibs at Hampden in the final of the Scottish Youth Cup.

The young Reds were bidding to win the competition for the first time since 2001 in what was their first final in 15 years.

But sadly Hibs were just edged a close encounter meaning they have done the double of the Youth Cup and the Development League.

The Dons took the lead on 16 minutes thanks to a moment of magic from Connor McLennan.

After collecting Sam Roscoe’s 60-yard pass down by the corner flag on the right McLennan skipped beyond Sean Mackie and Kevin Waugh before rounding goal Maciej Dabrowski and knocking the ball into the net.

Midway through the half Fraser Murray hit the crossbar for Hibs with a blistering strike from 20 yards and shortly before the half hour Innes Murray’s cross from the right looped onto the bar.

On 33 minutes the Leith side did level when Dons defender Joe MacPherson knocked Fraser Murray’s right wing delivery beyond keeper David Craddock and into his own net.

Both sides kept attacking before the interval but at half-time it remained all square.

In the second period there were less clear-cut chances. Ryan Porteous made a last-ditch block to stop Bruce Anderson scoring and at the other end Craddock did well to keep out Jamie Gullan’s deflected shot from 12 yards.

With 18 minutes left Hibs went ahead when Ben Stirling’s cross from the right was headed home by Porteous from six yards.

A third goal for Hibs with 11 minutes left sealed their victory. Oli Shaw’s shot from an acute angle was blocked by Roscoe, but the Leith side got lucky as the ball bounced across goal for Gullan to tap home at the back post.

Aberdeen kept going until the very end but they were unable to retrieve the situation.

Aberdeen: David Craddock, Ryan Harrington, Joe MacPherson, Sam Roscoe, Daniel Harvie (Toby Wells 89); Frank Ross, Dean Campbell, Seb Ross, Ethan Ross (David Dangana 73); Bruce Anderson, Connor McLennan (Miko Virtanen 46).
Subs not used: Archie Mair, Chris Antoniazzi, Jack MacKenzie, Connor Barron.
Hibs: Maciej Dabrowski, Callum Donaldson, Sean Mackie, Ryan Porteous, Kevin Waugh, Josh Campbell, Fraser Murray, Ben Stirling, Oli Shaw, Innes Murray (Adam Watson 85), Jamie Gullan.
Subs not used: Patrick Martin, Kane O’Connor, Gregor Woods, Ruari Paton, Ryan Shanley, Yrik Gallantes.
Referee: Iain Snedden.